play chess against computer

Play Chess Against Computer

Share and you will reveal!
Funny name, real interests
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
absolutegenius ♡ 5 ( +1 | -1 )
3-fold repetition what are the rules for a 3-fold repetition draw???
More: Chess
philaretus ♡ 24 ( +1 | -1 )
They are: If the same position occurs three times (not necessarily consecutively) with the same player on move each time, then either player may claim a draw. If neither wants to claim a draw, they can go on playing.
bibip ♡ 19 ( +1 | -1 )
Philaretus "If the same position occurs three times (not necessarily consecutively) with the same player on move each time"
With the same player on move? Are you sure?
certainratio ♡ 80 ( +1 | -1 )
that's correct Yes, it must be with the same player to move
each time.

But I have further questions (that I never
thought of until now):

What constitutes a position? The answer seems
to be the placement of all of the pieces.
So, the same position occurring three times
seems to mean the same piece placements three
times. However, isn't the ability to castle or
not part of the position? So suppose all of the
pieces are in the same spot for the third time
with the same person to move each time, but the
first two times the position occurred, White
had the option of castling, whereas the third
time, White has forfeited this right due to
having moved the king or rook. Does this still
count as the same position? What about a similar
situation involving en passant?
brunetti ♡ 33 ( +1 | -1 )
Well, the position is the same if placement of pieces AND castling + en passant rights are identical. And the same player is on move. Anyway, you may claim the draw after your opponent has mad is move and the third repetition has just presented, or before making your move such that a third repetition will appear.

chessjunkie ♡ 54 ( +1 | -1 )
bibip The threefold position thing is true, on USCF's Live Chess program, if you suspect you've been in a position for the third time, and you request a draw, the computer automatically accepts if it finds the position three times. This option makes this sort of draw much less difficult online than in real life :P

This is for the rest of you:
Now that I try to remember, I'm not sure of myself on this point anymore. Does repetition of three moves consecutively *force* a draw, unlike the position rule?
More: Chess
brunetti ♡ 28 ( +1 | -1 )
Actually repetition of three moves "rule" is not a rule, but a fact which consequences are the repetition of the position. So, the rule to look at is the position repetition, and no draw is forced.

The only forced draws, where players must stop to play, are stalemate and insufficient material.

chessjunkie ♡ 10 ( +1 | -1 )
thanks brunetti Ok, thanks. Just surfing now I found a nice big Laws of Chess section at FIDE to look at too :D
victorovitch3 ♡ 19 ( +1 | -1 )
Question? Does the three fold repetition apply here? for example, if I get to make an infinite check (checking the opponent once and again in the same two positions conequently) do I get a draw automatically?
brunetti ♡ 3 ( +1 | -1 )
Read my above post :)

bibip ♡ 28 ( +1 | -1 )
chessjunkie I knew about 3 fold repetition. I was asking about player on move.
Recently i thought that gameknot system didn't recognized a repetition but I was wrong. My opponent was trying carefully avoiding repetition changing the pattern of moves. I don't know why. People are strange.